Why does my dog sleep on my feet?

Dogs are primarily social pack animals that prefer close proximity of their “pack” especially while resting. Pack members huddle together for warmth and security, and prefer to stay close to their pack leader. Today’s pet dogs regard their humans as pack members and more importantly as providers. Dominant dogs regard their humans as resource (food, play, attention, affection etc.) and resource guard them to a fault. Submissive dogs pick a dominant family member as their pack leader and literally shadow them wherever they go, develop separation anxiety when they leave and not surprisingly tend to sleep at the foot of the bed or on their owners feet.

About dogwise4dogwhys

Dog man
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why does my dog sleep on my feet?

  1. joJoni says:

    My small dog (Cosmo) use to sleep on my feet at night. The larger dog (Charlie) slept at my head and didn’t touch me in sleep. The Cosmo past away and then Charlie slept on my feet the same night Cosmo died. Which is weird because before you couldn’t get him to sleep at my feet when Cosmo stayed at my moms. And l was surprised he understood that Cosmo was gone.

    Why would he change like that? His personality changed he became quite a bit more docile.

    • They are very much like us or us like them when it comes to missing a family member. They all have their pecking order and behave differently when one goes missing. My husky mix was very respectful of my older lab (16) and started sleeping on her orthopedic bed after she passed away. She did it in a very reverential serene manner.

Leave a comment